Are You?

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
1 min readJul 6, 2017

Again, I am partially done with a piece. Partially because I can play the notes but not musically enough. Let me show what it sounds like before I do any analysis.

Overall, the piece is not that hard. Especially, the first half is quite simple. I do find a few of the things weird about the piece though:

  1. Some of the notes don’t seem to belong. And it’s not just that it’s because I am not playing them right. I listened to other recordings as well and felt that they didn’t fit.
  2. The music isn’t continuos. Maybe it would sound better with the pedal. Or maybe when there is another instrument being played along, like a violin.
  3. The left hand part conflicts with the melody. Now this is mostly because I am not able to play the left hand softer, but even other recordings that I heard didn’t sound very good even when left hand was being played softer.

Overall, I didn’t find the arrangement that appealing. But anyways it is good to learn a popular song, one which you actually like. Here are two performances of the song that I really like.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.