Be More Musical

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2017

Over the last month, I have taken two approaches to practice:

  1. Practice a piece well enough to play it fluently and correctly at a high tempo.
  2. Play the piece at a comfortable tempo, and focus on the dynamics.

The first approach was for Michael Aaron’s book. For the entirety of that book, I did not even try to play the dynamics. The target of recording all pieces at 120bpm meant that my only focus was on speed and correctness of notes. I didn’t have enough time to notice the dynamics and try playing them.

With the John Thompson’s book I am taking the second approach. Of course, even when I try I might not be able to play all the dynamics properly, but I am at least focussing on it. Hence in few of the pieces recorded recently, one would be able to hear the variations in tempo, loudness, and accents.

I have seven recordings for today. Some of the pieces were quite simple. Others surprised me because even though I thought that they were simple, I would play them wrong in one or the other way. Took me quite long to record them.

I still have three pieces remaining to reach the 35 pieces mark. There is a long weekend. Hoping to complete all of them by the end of it. Then I can maybe revise my target and try to complete 40 pieces.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.