Disengaged

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2017

For past few weeks I have not been feeling as engaged in piano as I used to. Maybe the initial excitement has started to wear off. Previously, I was always on the lookout to find more music to play, and over the weekends, when I had more time, I would start working on some material on the side. But I haven’t done that for weeks now. Even on regular days, I just practice the one piece that I might be working on at the time. In general that would seem fine, or maybe even the way most people practice. But that has not been the way I worked through material, so I am a bit concerned.

All of this is not to say that I have not been practising or that I am not progressing. I think the LCM Grade 1 book has really helped me take my skills forward and enabled me to learn pieces faster. And I see good reason to attempt to always take the complexity of the material a notch higher with every new book. But I would also like to play more and more pieces at my level as it would help me explore more music, improve my reading skills, spend more time on the piano, and keep things interesting.

I am really hoping that things would get back on track soon as I have Alfred’s book still unlearnt, and I have also found a new book called The Joy of First Classics which I would really like to learn pieces from.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.