Mind ****ed

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2017

I just finished watching the third lecture from the course Listening to Music and this was on the Fundamentals of Rhythm. The main discussion was over meters and the professor covered duple meter and triple meter. The important part was about how composers indicate the down beat in a piece. The strategies discussed were longer notes, accents, through range of accompaniment and through chord changes. Theoretically I got all of it, but I was not able to figure out the meter for the pieces that the professor was playing. I guess maybe I would need to listen more attentively to get it. One small but great thing in this lecture was the explanation of the hand movements done by a conductor. Finally, it’s not all cryptic to me anymore. Here’s the video for the lecture.

As far as the practice is concerned, I am done with the first half of the piece that I was working on. I have to get started on the second half. The first line of the second half is the same as the first half but its is a few notes up. Because of that, the black keys are not at the same finger numbers as the first half. This makes it a bit harder to learn than just being able to play without any effort. Will get started on the second half tomorrow.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.