Moving The Needle

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2017

I am writing after a while because I really wanted to have something to showcase here instead of just putting words to paper. So I (sort of) completed the piece I was working on and then picked some pieces from Alfred’s book to work learn and record.

First, lets hear the main piece that I was working on, called Minuet in D.

Let me start off by acknowledging that it is far from done. But I was tired of practising the same piece for so long that I decided just to record it and get it over with for the time being so that I can try out other material. And to be honest, I had to record many many times to even get to this stage. The main problem that I have with this piece is that at a couple of places I am not able to move my hand to the correct position in time. Maybe spending more time will fix it but I just don’t feel like it, now right now anyways.

I published some six pieces from the Alfred’s book. I won’t link all of them, but here are two.

None of the six pieces were tough. It took little time to get the hang of them and be able to record them. As I look ahead in the book, I see that pieces are going to get tougher, but right now, they are well within my reach.

As for the road ahead, I will continue to work on the Alfred’s book for some time. I am more inclined towards working on short, easy pieces right now, because I am not spending enough time on the piano these days.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.