New Book

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2017

I have come to realise that even good things can be scary. Like progress. Because once you have achieved a certain level, you are faced with the doubt if you would be able to make it to the next level. I have been trying to finish the book I was using to get the next one. And today I got it.

It’s an examination book containing 10 pieces. The scary part is that all of them seem difficult. The first one that I have been trying contains far too many hand movements and of the 32 measures, none are repeated. While in the examination, one only needs to play 3 pieces of her choice, I don’t have plans to write examination and instead want to learn all of them.

It’s very obvious to me that progress is going to be significantly slower going forward. Instead of updating which new pieces I learnt, I will have to update this blog with which measures I learnt. Even if I can complete one piece a week, I would be happy.

I would definitely try to work on Alfred’s book as well. The shorter pieces in it would keep me more engaged. Though pieces from that book won’t be easy anymore since I have already complete the first 50 pages and difficulty level has started to grow significantly.

Need to get back to the piano. Have to complete the first 8 measures today.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.