O Sole Mio

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
3 min readOct 3, 2017

Ok. So I know I haven’t been writing regularly. And one of the reasons is that I am not practising efficiently these days. Hence I am stuck on a single piece for days. I start with a piece, learn some part of it, and then instead of continuing to learn the rest of it I just keep playing the already learnt section again and again. I don’t feel like putting in the effort to figure out the rest of the piece. The same was the case with O Sole Mio. While I had learnt most of the piece, I had not worked on the last line. And hence I never got around actually recording it and writing about it.

I am much distracted these days because I am quitting my current job and moving to another state to take a new one. So I am trying to wrap up whatever work remains to be done in my current job. I am also travelling for a couple of weeks this month. And I am also trying to learn some new tech stuff. So all of this has taken my mind away from Piano. I have also quit my Piano classes, and I need to find a new teacher once I relocate. So with all this going on, I am just hoping to continue to work on the pieces that I have in this book and make whatever little progress I can for the next one month or so.

So anyways, I worked on O Sole Mio and except the arpeggiated chord in the last part, I was able to play the piece. To be honest, I didn’t put in much effort trying to play the arpeggiated chord either. I was ok with not playing it right and just finished the piece without it. I am not sure if my pedalling is proper throughout the piece. Here is how the piece sounds.

I just found a wonderful performance of the full melody. I guess I should have been playing it faster.

Besides this piece, I also completed the next one called Jericho. When I listened to the recordings of that one, I realised that it has to be played fast, but I was not able to play it at tempo, because it requires some amount of dexterity which I don’t have. Also, counting was out of question at the speed I was trying to play, which means I screwed up the timing too. I think I am rushing towards the end of the piece. But the piece wasn’t very exciting to me so I didn’t really spend too much time perfecting it and just went with whatever I could manage.

I have started working on the next piece which I really like. I am already done with the first half and am just getting started with the second half. I am guessing I should be done with it soon.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.