Phew!

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2017

The last time I wrote it was so long back I don’t even remember. Since then I have been working on one piece and one piece only. And boy was it tough. The piece is called Chiapanecas from the Alfred’s book. And frankly I was not expecting this one to take me this long to learn. I guess it is one of those pieces which is not so hard but you get stuck on in anyways.

Let’s hear what the recording sounds like, before analysing the piece.

There are three sections of the piece:

  1. The beginning is full of staccatos. Some hand movements are involved. Rests are there too. This was the hardest section for me. The problem is mostly because I it’s hard to look at the music and play. And if you are not looking at the music then you have to consciously remember where the chords have to be played and where the changes are. Again, it is not hard, it just took me a lot of effort to get right.
  2. The second part is simpler. Well, for me at least. I can imagine other beginners having trouble in this section. This section contains a continuing left hand pattern with chord changes every 4 measures. The right hand plays a melody that is in sync with the left hand at all times. Making chord changes, without hesitation, might feel a bit difficult initially but practice for a day or two and you would get it.
  3. The third section changes between the first time we play and the repetition. I wasn’t having much difficulty with this part until I started to record. In the previous section there is a continuous pattern being played by the left hand, which breaks in this section. I was not able to make the switch easily without hesitation. I think this had to do less with any complexity involved and more to the fact that I always perform worse when trying to record.

But finally I am done with the piece. I think I did not put honest effort into this one which is why it took so long. I haven’t been very regular with the practice the last few days. My mind is diverted towards few other things going on in life. I don’t think there will be respite for coming few days either.

The next piece looks interesting. Will be starting that tomorrow. Hopefully, it won’t take as long as this one.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.