Thirteen Reasons Why

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2017

I haven’t practised much in the last 48 hours. I picked up some new project at work which demanded more time. Also, I started to watch the new hyped-up Netflix series Thirteen Reasons Why. I am halfway through the series and would probably be done by end of tomorrow. Then I can go back to concentrating on Piano.

I did learn one piece from John Thompson’s book called The Frog Chorus. The piece is meant to teach playing in cross-hand position. I learn the piece but not moving the hands at all and instead just playing the notes in my current hand position. That was just too easy because of many other similar pieces that I have played. Hence I was able to play correctly and fast in no time. But when it came to switching hand positions, things got difficult. Initially it felt a bit weird, but soon it started to feel normal. The problem was with the time it took to change the hand position. So I slowed down to the speed at which I was able to do the switch in time.

I am also continuing to learn Inside Out. I am about 75% through, though I cannot play the last bar properly yet. Hopefully I will start to make some progress on the piece Monday onwards.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.