Time For Change

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2017

I have been writing here since February. When I initially envisioned this project, there were two major end goals:

  1. Keep me practising regularly
  2. Create something others might find useful

How to reach the end goals was no so clear. I had a couple of thoughts.

  1. Write only about what I practised. It might be a piece, some exercises, anything. Also, provide sheet music for the same. Basically create a resource which resembles a method book, but with some personal touch.
  2. Write about my practise, but also about my thought process. Capture the joy, the disappointment, the frustration, the success and the failure. Showcase where I was through recordings.

I chose to go with the second approach. I figured that learning to play an instrument is not so much about what resources to use but about how to deal with your emotions on a day to day basis. If you can’t deal with the frustrations that come along with practice, then it’s unlikely you would persist.

For any content to survive, it has to provide some value to the consumer. Anyone who comes to this publication and reads my posts should get something out of it, or else I have wasted both my time and his. So the question I need to answer to myself is

“Am I able to create content of value to others every alternate day?”

Recently I have started to feel that the answer to that question is No. As learning any new piece takes longer and longer, there is just not enough to write than to mention that I am still working on the piece. Hence I have decided to change the frequency of my posts. Instead of sticking to a fixed schedule of once every two days I am going to write whenever I think I have something to write about.

I hope with this change, people reading the posts would derive more value out of it and the overall quality of the content would improve.

--

--

Vaibhav Sinha
How I Learnt Piano

Aspiring pianist. Aspiring innovator. Aspiring entrepreneur. For now though, I write code for a living.