Howl: A Holiday Edition

A Wish List for Santa at the End of a Not-So-Sexy Year

You got anything in that bag for me?

Y.L. Wolfe
Howl by Yael Wolfe
Published in
5 min readDec 25, 2020

--

Photo by Alicia Slough on Unsplash

Dear Santa,

This year was tough. I thought I would be okay today — I worked so hard to plan a situation in which I wouldn’t be alone. But it’s still hard.

And the people I’m not with are disappointed.

And the shift in my quarantine schedule I’m about to make is causing other people to feel disappointed.

And a couple of my friends are facing horrific hardships right now, which is breaking my heart.

And people are busy or dealing with their own struggles and families right now and I have no one to lean on.

And I didn’t have sex with anyone but myself this year.

And I’m tired.

Am I too old to leave this note by the tree? A list of things I hope you’ll leave for me? I really need a pleasant surprise right now.

Constancy

What I wouldn’t give for this. Maybe it’s asking for too much. I always had a roof over my head. I always knew there would be food on the table. But emotional constancy has been elusive in my life.

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe
Howl by Yael Wolfe

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com