If You Want More Gigs Then You MUST Do This

Pat Oates
laughstaff™
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2018
Get to the next level

You hit open mics every chance you get, you are constantly writing and editing, you watch Netflix specials to try and learn techniques and approaches, you go to workshops, you read amazing articles like the Laugh Staff™comedy advice articles that Pat Oates writes and even listen to the podcast companion version at https://www.patreon.com/comedylol, you are doing everything you can to become a better comic… then why aren’t you feeling like you are getting better? Why aren’t you getting more gigs?

You can use all the resources available to you but if you don’t know how to properly utilize them, you will never get better. It’s like going to the gym; you can use the equipment, but if you don’t know how to properly use it, you won’t get stronger. Instead, you are just developing poor techniques and habits because you don’t know what to do with the information and resources available to you.

A football player doesn’t understand how to watch game film at first. Coaches go over the film with them and point out the flaws and mistakes, then the coaches give players instructions on how to correct them. As comics, we record our sets and then listen to or watch them, but if we don’t know how to watch them or what to look for, then how do we get better?

If you want to learn how to watch your clips or how to listen to your audio, send your clips to patoatescomedy@gmail.com. I will watch your clip or listen to your audio, then I will then send in-depth feedback breaking down every aspect of the set. We will discuss the feedback and go over any questions you have and go over techniques and approaches that will best suit bettering your act and help you edit yourself in the future. Then after hitting a few mics and shows, you send me another clip after using the techniques and approaches we discussed, and we talk about how those are working or not until we get you to that next level understanding of your act.

I know. I know. You can’t believe that I’m doing a fucking infomercial right now. Listen, I’ve been giving advice for free for every single week for 2 years now, so cut me some slack. Haha. I love writing these articles. I love helping other comics. But a starving comic’s got to eat. I have been helping comics from all over the country and they have seen great results. And believe me, I charge WAY less then any comedy school or workshop. For only $50, sent to paypal.me/patoatescomedy or Venmo @pat-oates, you will get the most thorough breakdown and honest feedback you have ever gotten of your set. You sill be shocked as to how specific the feedback is. And it isn’t a one time deal. We will continue to go over techniques until you don’t need my help anymore. I will help you find your voice, make your act more relatable, trim the fat in your jokes and much more. With these edits and techniques your clip will go from no thanks to send me your avails when sending to bookers and clubs.

And don’t worry, next week’s article will not be a damn infomercial. Next week I’m going to write a piece on what to do if you develop a bad rep in your comedy community, but my feedback offer stands for as long as I’m doing comedy. I love comedy. I love talking comedy. I love seeing others reach their potential. So please take advantage of this offer. It’s my birthday next week and I’d like to spend it watching and breaking down comics acts then anything else. Helping comics who share the passion for becoming better and achieving more in this crazy business is a passion of mine. Ok, commercial over.

As always, thanks for reading my Laugh Staff™ pieces. If you have a topic you would like covered, feel free to suggest one. And listen to Pat Oates is Sad podcast on iTunes, Stitcher and more.

--

--

Pat Oates
laughstaff™

Author of How Not to Suck at Comedy. Comedian, podcaster, radio personality, pretended his mom was dead on tv once