THE AGE OF INDIVIDUALITY ❤

Holly Simms
PH FiTNESS
Published in
4 min readDec 17, 2022

Today was a weird day I got up around 7am start my yoga around 8am & then prepare my body & mind for the full day ahead of me. I started to do some artwork for a little bit which is one of my passionate hobbies. I felt a greater sense of achievement today than normal.

Later that day I was out enjoying lunch with a friend & was greeted by an old lady around 70 who seemed really sweet at first. The restaurant was silent as a mouse & packed full of people as she makes polite on the surface conversation to which it’s thrown off on a tangent by the boisterous tone in her voice echoed the question

“Why did you name your brand Pink Holly?” (I had my workbook pulled out in which my logo is on) I replied “Because pink is the color of universal love & unity & one of my absolute favorite colors.

It’s part of who I am — she proceeded to knock me down a few pegs by telling me that what I was doing was not normal & that I should think about renaming my brand (odd I know!) & to also wear more sensible clothing (crop hoodie with uggs was my ootd). I guess it’s more appropriate for an older lady raised from tradition but it is “weird” tutting when I became defensive of my career & appearance.

It almost seems nowadays being unique, special or individual is labelled with the connotations of being weird. Strange & unapproachable. Maybe i’m thinking too much into this whole matter but I thought society got over the whole judging people’s appearances long ago.

We now live in the age of individuality where unique new styles & looks are praised, inspiring the world.

We now live in the age of individuality where unique new styles & looks are praised, inspiring the world.

Take the fashion industry if we all stuck with sensible, normal & acceptable clothing — designers including myself would be tearing their hair from their root. Fashion & our appearances are an expression of our personalities, tastes & of our own representation that becomes our identity.

I understand this lady within her generation didn’t quite have the rebellion & diversity that this world does today but I think of it as quite rude to interrupt someone from their lunch, their own little bubble of joy to insult them & get one up by saying they are not appropriate & not normal.

This all falls into the same category as people who are prejudice & stereotype people with brightly colored hair, tattoos & piercings as being unemployable something that just shifted out the shadows from in the us.

Creativity should be praised. This website is a large portion of my creativity which includes a lot of pictures of me, my hair, my personal style & I am praised for my creative solutions that benefits many hundreds that read it every day. But it worries me that we still live in a world where people think it’s unacceptable to look a certain way.

I just want everyone to take a sense of equality away with them today after reading this. That just because you look very different to another because of ethnicity, height, weight, age or style it doesn’t mean to say you are wrong or inappropriate for looking that way.

You are your own character & as long as you can identify with yourself as being happy with that nothing should matter. I didn’t judge that lady for her dress sense because she is her own being & that is what makes her happy. I didn’t let those comments sink in because I am very happy with who I am & how I express myself.

This world is made for us creative souls so let others thrive off being unique & not being a sheep.

As Always Until Next Time

XOXO 🖤

--

--

Holly Simms
PH FiTNESS

Pink Holly®️ Designer Swimwear - Luxurious because you deserve it 💋