Writing a Formal Email of Self Introduction

Bei Yu
huangbeiyu
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2020

To: Brenda Tan

From: Ng Bei Yu

Date: January 16, 2020

Subject: Self-Introduction

Dear Brenda,

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to you by email. My name is Bei Yu, a hospitality business undergraduate from Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT). Prior to joining SIT, I graduated from Singapore Polytechnic with a diploma in tourism resort management.

During school breaks, I would take up part-time jobs as a waitress with various organisations such as Belle-Ville Pancakes, Salad Stop and Monster Curry. I also worked as an Event’s Helper with Joevent International. My professional experience also includes an internship experience in the Walt Disney World Company as a Cast Member. I also played Volleyball competitively from primary school up till my polytechnic days.

In the past, I would have described myself as shy and would shy away from strangers, let alone communicating with others. However, I have managed to learn to be more open and care-free. I have tremendously improved my communication skills during my work experiences as I had to assist customers with what they need. By interacting with people from the various walks of life and different departments, I learnt to be more confident of myself as customers and managers commended the way I interacted with customers. Starting a conversation with people now has become an easier task for me. I recognize that effective communication is an essential element that I now look for at work.

However, when I speak in front of a large group of people, I would still get nervous. I tend to use hesitations and wimpy words as filler word and not be as confident of the content I am presenting.

I look forward to developing my presentation skills in this module.

Thank you and have a great day ahead.

Yours sincerely,
Ng Bei Yu

(287 words)

--

--