The Benefits of My Volunteering Experiences in Business Life

Kübra Bilğiç
Huawei Developers
Published in
4 min readDec 25, 2023

My volunteering story began in 2013 and it’s still ongoing. How did this story start? What contributions did it make to my personal development? In which institutions did I volunteer? I will share all of these with you. Let’s get started!

I Can Manage My Money — Habitat Association (Ankara,2015)

🌎 Leadership Skills

Volunteering is a fantastic way to develop leadership skills. Competencies such as team management, providing motivation, and taking on responsibilities can be practiced through volunteering.

🎡 I took on volunteer leadership roles in various groups, and it paved the way for my career in the business world as my first role was as a human resources manager. Despite having no prior work experience, the leadership I exercised during my volunteer work became a guiding light in team management within my professional career.

https://youtu.be/TzXgpOvv6iw?si=3g_u4eVajaF3mFAy

🗣️ Communication Skills

Volunteering offers opportunities to interact and communicate with people. These experiences can significantly aid in enhancing communication skills in professional life.

🎡 Engaging with speakers and fellow participants in events and conferences during my university years added diverse perspectives and experiences to my communication skills. It helped me find my closest friends and co-dreamers, contributing to my personal and professional development. ✨

Women in Tech GDSC YTÜ

🤝 Teamwork

Volunteering brings together diverse individuals, fostering the development of teamwork skills. This can enhance the ability to collaborate within a professional environment.

🎡 The Eskişehir Idea Generation Camp (GGK Eskişehir) marked my initiation into team-based competitions. As a freshman, those three days were the clear starting point of my volunteering journey. Engaging in social impact projects, collaborating in different teams, contributing ideas, and being part of the organizational process broadened my horizons. Thanks to the experience gained through volunteering, I swiftly adapted to all the teams I joined in my professional career. 🦾

Tepebaşı Youth Parliament (Eskişehir, 2017)
Eskişehir Osmangazi University I Can Manage My Money Training (2016)

🕊️ Social Responsibility and Sensitivity

Volunteering experiences have the potential to amplify one’s sense of social responsibility and empathy. This can contribute to fostering a more compassionate, ethical, and socially responsible attitude in professional life.

🎡 During my university years, I engaged in numerous social responsibility projects with the Eskişehir Red Crescent Club. While serving as a Youth Sports Ministry Camp Leader, I actively participated in various projects. As of 2022, I’ve been involved in projects with the Zekeriyaköy Rotaract Club. Engaging in initiatives for social good has greatly contributed to bringing out the best version of myself. 🌼

Eskişehir Young Red Crescent Club (2016)
Kuşadası GSB Camp Leadership (2016)

🌎 Networking

Volunteering offers opportunities to meet individuals from different sectors and positions. This can aid in building a broad network within the business world.

🎡 Building a sustainable network during my university years and professional life has always been beneficial. I’ve had the chance to meet numerous professionals I couldn’t have imagined meeting before. These connections led to various collaborations. Creating a sustainable network stands as the most crucial part of my volunteering journey! ❗️

Huawei R&D Meeting (Gaziantep, 2023)
Zekeriyaköy Rotaract Club (Istanbul, 2023)

🧩 Problem-Solving Skills

Volunteering experiences provide the opportunity to encounter various challenges and develop problem-solving abilities. This, in turn, can enhance your problem-solving skills in professional life.

🎡 On International Women’s Day in 2016, at Hanımeli Sokağı in Eskişehir, I conducted a Financial Literacy Workshop titled “I Can Manage My Money.” Since it was on the street, I didn’t have the chance to set up a laptop or similar resources. I improvised by creating a series of colorful papers as slides for the workshop. Many challenges I faced during my volunteering journey echoed in my professional life. Anticipating these challenges allowed me to navigate through similar situations more smoothly. 🛎

8 March Women’s Day Financial Literacy Training (Hanımeli Sokak Eskişehir, 2016)

🎖️Career Development

A strong history of volunteering can be attractive to employers. These experiences can enrich your resume and make a difference in your career.

Excellence Summit — Quality Association (Eskişehir, 2015)

In my volunteering journey that began in Eskişehir, through professional efforts with the Huawei Student Developers Turkey community, I had the chance to speak on the stage I dreamed of a decade ago in Eskişehir. 💙

Eskişehir Huawei R&D Meeting (2023)

My wonderful experiences in volunteering will always continue to surprise and bring joy to me. 😍

Do you have any unforgettable moments from your volunteering experiences?

Let’s meet in the comments 💙

See you in my next Medium post! 💌

🎡 bento.me/kubrabilgic

--

--