Does Using Time Management Apps Increase Our Productivity?

Kübra Bilğiç
Huawei Developers
Published in
5 min readJun 22, 2023

In this article, I will share my experiences with the apps I actively use to manage my time in school, work, and social life. So, how helpful are time management apps in establishing a work-life balance?

Time Management

Time Management is a method used to increase productivity and reduce stress in personal and professional areas.

Such apps can perform functions such as

✅ Planning tasks,

🎯 Prioritizing,

🔔 Setting reminders,

Tracking time.

From an efficiency perspective, time management apps can help individuals organize their work and increase their productivity.

In which subjects do Time Management applications help you?

🔹 Plan your day and set priorities.

🔹 Track your time and determine where you spend it.

🔹 Set deadlines and reminders.

🔹 Block distracting elements.

🔹 Take breaks.

🔸 Boost motivation.

🔸 Reduce stress.

🔸 Improve work-life balance.

Overall, time management apps can be valuable tools to enhance your productivity and effectiveness.

📌 If you seek ways to improve your time management skills, try the recommended apps.

Time Management Applications

Forest

Forest

This app utilizes the Pomodoro technique to help you stay focused on your tasks. When you start a task, the app plants a virtual tree. If you lose focus, the tree dies.

🌳 Over 1,000,000 real trees have been planted by our users.

👩🏻‍💻 My Experience

I actively used this app both on my desktop and phone during my master’s thesis writing process. At a certain point, the Forest app planted a tree on my behalf in the African region🌲. You can access websites other than the ones you designate as restricted. However, if you enter prohibited sites, your tree gets cut down🥺. It can also be used in the workplace by utilizing the group study mode.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (5/5)

🖥 Product Hunt

⌭ forestapp.cc

I really love this app, I’ve been using it for years. I love the group sessions feature; it really helps during revision sessions. Couldn’t recommend it more if you need to shut your phone down!
~ Giacomo Lawrence

It’s a flexible and user-friendly time management app based on the Pomodoro technique. Plus, they plant a tree on your behalf when you accumulate 2500 points.
~ Selma Nazlıoğlu

🧐SensorTower

Todoist

This app is a great way to track your tasks and priorities. It comes with various features, including deadlines, reminders, and sub-tasks.

🛎️ Used by over 30 million people and teams worldwide.

👩🏻‍💻 My Experience

I started using Todoist in 2019. At that time, I was using a physical planner. I transitioned to a digital note and reminder system. It has a user-friendly interface and is a convenient platform.

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (4/5)

🖥 Product Hunt

⌭ todoist.com

Drew Gallagher

Overall, it’s a very straightforward tool. Sometimes, there can be issues with synchronizing and carrying over tasks scheduled for each day that wasn’t completed the previous day. They won’t repeat for that day if you mark them as completed. It would be nice to allow them to repeat for the current day and not forget what they didn’t complete the previous day.
~Drew Gallagher
I love being able to add time and date as plain text.
~ Golfo Vasiliou

🧐SensorTower

Toggl

Toggl is an app that tracks the time you spend on tasks. It helps you see where you spend your time and ensures that you are working on the most important things.

🎈Toggl comes with reporting and sharing features with team members.

🖥 Product Hunt

toggl.com

One of my friends recommended Toggl Track for tracking the time of my freelance projects. I have been using it for about 3 months for all kinds of work needs, and I quickly got used to it. It’s a very user-friendly and useful product. Highly recommended! Thank you for creating it! ✌️

~ Fatma Kiraz

I can’t imagine my daily workflow without Toggl. It has been a significant presence in tracking different projects and tasks. Great UI/UX and the usability is truly intuitive (and Siri integration is one of my favorite features).

~ Irene

🧐SensorTower

🖥 GITHUB TIME MANAGEMENT PROJECT EXAMPLES

In the field of time management, software developers develop projects for the ecosystem. Examining the applications we use and different projects inspires us at the point of new project development. You can check out the projects about Time Management on my github link 👩🏻‍💻

Time management apps can help you with tasks planning, setting reminders, and tracking your time, which can assist in increasing your productivity level. However, the effectiveness of such tools may vary for each individual.

✨It’s important to find the one that aligns with your work style and preferences.

You can leave comments sharing the time management apps you have experienced. 😎 I look forward to your feedback. 👩🏻‍💻

Until next time on Medium! 💌

--

--