Leaping, learning, living

Ellie Osborne
Huddlecraft
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2019

Last year I jumped into the depths of a learning question with Enrol Yourself. The choice to make that leap goes high on my list of ‘best things I’ve ever done.’

I wrote these words amidst the chaotic final sprint before our #PowerLab showcase. I was thriving on the adrenaline and last burst of energy as I headed full pelt to the finish line. It is a snapshot in time. As I wrote the minutes slowed, and this reflection appeared on the paper in front of me.

At the heart of my learning question was a desire to live a more meaningful life. I thought this meant setting off on a marathon to seek meaningful work. 26 weeks on, I have hacked through unexpected territories, trodden untrodden tracks, waded through a metaphorical swamp, hiked up metaphorical mountains (plus a real hill or two), and explored a triptych of paths — where I was the intersection between the three:

1. What makes me human?

This path led me on a deep inquiry into myself and my soul. It has shown me the power in vulnerability. I have a more detailed map of the spectrum of my humanness. I know more about the limits and the rights I create for myself. This has been a catalyst to think beyond them and expand my experience of life. As this inquiry continues I intend to develop tools, models to help others locate themselves on their individual human spectrum.

2. Deepening the quality and meaning in my relationships

This path slowed me down. The pace of the lives we lead creates a layer of noise that stops us truly appreciating those around us. To make a gift
for someone is to press pause and appreciate them for a moment.

HMN.KND started out making small cards for a few special people. It started a ripple effect, which I hope to turn into a wave that gathers momentum powered by kindness as it spreads through my networks.

With each HMN.KND experiment I find new delights in creating different forms of invitation and experience, of giving and receiving kindness, and watching them unfold.

HMN.KND experiment #4 at the PowerLab showcase. The audience was invited to draw and write a piece of kindness to give to someone else in the room.

3. Helping people understand themselves and navigate their way in the world.

This path overlapped with another enroller’s. It’s been fun to have a companion to run alongside. The result is Agent You. We have run two prototypes with intrepid agents and wayfarers. Iteration continues and new quest dates are set for 2019. On this marathon I have discovered new contexts and modes where I find meaning; being in partnership, playfully challenging stigmas, nurturing others to grow.

Prototype #2 of Agent You, an adventure to help people explore their purpose and agency.

Looking back, I can see a beautiful view of all the landscapes these
paths have lead me through. They have reopened chapters in my story that I once thought closed, opened up new blank pages to write. I step over the finish line with a deeper understanding of my human self, what really matters to me, and a new sense of ‘I can’. It’s time to pause and take in that view for a moment before I step onto a new square of the map.

Another 2 months on and I’ve realised that when I started Enrol Yourself I expected the showcase and finish line to be the end. Full stop.

I happily couldn’t have been more wrong.

I may not have started off with the intention to create projects that lived on beyond 6 months, yet they have rooted themselves firmly into my life. My question stemmed from a desire to live more meaningfully, and through exploration and experimentation I have found new ways of doing and being.

But perhaps the most important thing that has lived on is the friendships. My fellow enrollers are companions for life (that’s us below), the journey we shared was powerful and binding, and it’s been wonderful to meet the wider community of incredibly interesting and diverse enrol humans along the way too.

I loved the transformational learning experience so much that I will be hosting my own learning marathon starting in the Autumn of 2019. Keep an eye out for more details later in the year.

My incredible #PowerLab peers

--

--

Ellie Osborne
Huddlecraft

Collaborator | Facilitator | Researcher | Designer | Coach | Always learning | Endlessly fascinated by nature, systems, relationship, and why | She/Her