Women in Cricket on the March

Cricket Huddle
Cricket Huddle Journal
2 min readMar 17, 2017

Looking back over all the sporting spectacles of 2016, I still pinch myself at the things I was fortunate to witness in person.

I watched from the finish line as a breathless hush fell over the Olympic stadium before Usain Bolt tore up the 100m. I was also a humble (and occasionally speechless) commentator as Virat Kohli went about smashing four T20 centuries in the space of 10 days at the Indian Premier League. But of all these occasions, it was a more unassuming triumph that left the deepest impression. And it was not taken in from a lofty vantage point in some grandiose stadium, but sitting in front of a TV screen on my own in Rio’s Copa broadcasting centre, watching the Great Britain women’s hockey team win Olympic gold for the first time.

My colleague Alexis Nunes had kindly taken over my presenting shift early so I could jump in a taxi to watch the game live, but after failing to organise transport in time, I resigned myself to sitting in the green room watching the BBC feed. Looking back now, I actually think it was the perfect way to watch the event: I viewed the game just as one of the British public, emotionally connected to all those millions glued to their TVs on that unforgettable Friday night.

This appeared first on the Telegraph. If you enjoyed our recommendation, please spread the word by hitting that little heart!

A note from The Cricket Huddle: Every day we filter the best of cricket stories from the internet. It’s kind of like if your friend read the internet all day then told you the important stuff in a fun, easy to understand way. Try our Cricket App to get these pieces of wisdom every day and impress your coworkers with how smart you are.

--

--