Swift sands

Raphaël Huez
huezfamily
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2020

We arrived from Jodhpur to Jaisalmer to do the desert safari. Jaisalmer is named the gold city. I would rather call it the beige city but it’s not a good name.

View on Jaisalmer

Jodhpur is the blue city💙, Udaipur (where we did Holi, see my blog) is the white city and Jaipur (there are lots of ‘pur’, which means city) is the pink💗 city but we didn’t go because of COVID-19. It looks like Indians like giving colour nicknames to their cities🏙! so yes, we arrived in Jaisalmer and spent two nights🌃in a horrible hotel because the people of the hotel look like they didn’t want you there. But anyway, let’s focus on the camels!

We went in the desert in a jeep🚘 and drove for about one hour. We arrived and saw five camels looking lazy and bored! (they always look like that). Then Eleonore said ‘oh no! it’s scary when they get up!’ and I was like ‘ahhhh! so we got on the camels, they got up and I admit it is kinda scary, but less scary then I thought.

We did about one hour of camel riding. It’s a bit weird to ride on a camel. It’s like you’re being swayed up and down and when you’re being swayed down, you clunk on the hump! We named our camels: Drooly, the boss, Farty and Leaning, but all of those names in French. I did like it for 20 minutes, but afterwards I didn’t like it because I was bored.

When we arrived, I quickly took my shoes off to go to the dunes. I arrived at the dunes and… so cool! First we ran across the dunes and after I slid down the dunes first on my butt and then on my belly.

It was so good and if someone would ask me if they don’t know whether to go there, I would recommend to them: go! go! go! don’t hesitate just go!

Playing in the dunes with my sisters

After really having lots of fun at the dunes we went to bed.

Our beds in the desert

When it was night, there were so many stars that you couldn’t even count them or see the shapes!

I say this was a great day in the desert.

Raphaël

--

--