Artist Q&A: Andrew Duncan

Hum
Hum London
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2019

London attracts some of the worlds finest musicians as they seek fame and fortune in one of the world’s most famous cities. Many, like singer-guitarist Andrew Duncan, take the opportunity to sharpen their performing skills by playing street shows on London’s bustling streets.

Born in Illinois, USA and raised in Glasgow, Andrew made the journey down to the capital after graduating with a degree in music and film from the University of Glasgow. He now performs daily street shows around Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square, showcasing an energetic, folk-pop acoustic style that has already garnered him a sizeable following on social media.

Andrew kindly took some time out to answer a few questions on his time in Glasgow, social media, and life as a musician in London.

What led you to take up busking?

I grew up around Glasgow where the busking culture is very popular. As a musician, I was always inspired to give it a try but I didn’t know how to start. It’s quite a nerve-wracking experience the first time. But I had a good friend who had been saying good things about his experience with busking and shared his knowledge with me. So I gave it a try and I’ve been busking ever since.

How would you describe your music and performing style?

My musical style is a mix between singer/songwriter pop and alternative rock. I played in an alternative rock band in Glasgow which definitely developed a high energy style. And my busking also developed a more heartfelt acoustic singer/songwriter style. So now I try to bring my influences together and create something that feels natural to me.

What’s the best thing about being a musician in London?

For me, the best thing is that there are so many opportunities and creative people around the city. I love the energy and influences that surround me and it inspires me to keep pushing myself further. I’ve gained so much knowledge from other musicians since I moved to London and for me, it’s the best way to improve creatively.

Where is your favourite place to busk in London and what makes it so great?

My favourite place to play street shows is in Leicester Square. It’s in the heart of the city with thousands of people walking by every day. There is an amazing energy with crowds in Leicester Square, and at night with the lights, people and music there is a special atmosphere.

Where are your favourite places to go to see live music?

When I’m not watching my friends’ street shows, there are some really nice music venues in Camden and Shoreditch to see up and coming artists. And a lot of the time those up and coming musicians are street performers too.

Do you think there’s a difference between audiences in Glasgow and London?

I think the differences are that with London being a much larger city there is a bigger help from tourism when it comes to audiences and it’s much more common for people from around the world to be in the crowds.

The street performing culture is different in each city as well. Glasgow busking is very music based whereas in London people may watch a circus performance or a magic show before a musician plays, which might change the dynamic and expectations of audiences.

What role does social media play for today’s street musicians and buskers?

I think social media has a massive influence on buskers. Street music is something that can easily go viral online and with so many people in the audiences filming and sharing the videos online, it makes it one of the most powerful ways to promote and share the music I am playing.

Where can people go to hear more of your music?

At the moment people can hear my music and watch my performances on Instagram, YouTube and Facebook but I’m also aiming to share my music on Spotify soon.

If you’re in Paris and you’d like to see more of Andrew, he’ll be playing an intimate show at Théâtre du Temps with his friend, Jordan Rawson on March 9.

For more news and info on the latest live music events in London, be sure to follow HUM on Facebook and Instagram. If you’ve got an act that you’d like to be featured on our blog, feel free to get in touch.

--

--

Hum
Hum London

London's soundtrack is always on! Hum is your way to find live music events around the city, spot artists and discover live music venues. Follow the HUM!