Death and Discovery

Idris Talib Solomon
Human Development Project
3 min readApr 21, 2016

--

The day I discovered Malick Sidibe was the day he passed away.

Malick Sidibe was a Malian photographer who captured beautiful portraits of young people and the influence of pop culture in their lives during the sixties.

Although his portraits are primarily black and white, there is an undeniable sense of color and vibrance in his subjects and the patterns he selects. Each photo is alive with story and rhythm.

I wasn’t sure what to expect once I googled his name. But instantly every black and white photo that popped up grabbed and held my attention. I was amazed from the beginning for a few reasons. Firstly, the photos were very interesting. The subjects all have flare and personality. They stared at the camera, almost daring it to take their photo. Secondly, I was excited to see so many beautiful African people caught on camera in an era that is mostly invisible to the public.

“The day I discovered Malick Sidibe was the day he passed away.”

As a portrait photographer sometimes the most challenging aspect is getting my subject to feel comfortable. We use all types of tricks and techniques. we ask questions, engage in small talk, tell jokes, bring props — and I’m sure there are hundreds more techniques. Malick Sidibe’s portraits feel like his subjects walked into his studio without any prepping. It’s almost like there was an instant connection. And although I was not there to witness his process, his photos transport me back to Mali in the 60’s and I get to experience the introduction of western pop culture in this country for the first time.

“There is something bittersweet about this discovery. I feel like I should have known who he was much earlier.”

There is something bittersweet about this discovery. I feel like I should have known who he was much earlier. His work is beautiful and amazing. Why didn’t I know about him? Is it a lack of proper exposure and celebration in the industry? Or is it a lack of research and curiosity on my part? Or a bit of both? Either way, I am happy to have been blessed with knowledge of his work.

I also watched this video on youtube to learn more about the legend.

Idris Talib Solomon is a freelance art director, photographer, and writer. He is a husband and a father. He is a Brooklyn native. And if you forget, he will remind you. You can check out his designs at www.idrissolomon.com. His photography can be viewed at www.isolomonphoto.com. Peace.

--

--