A Pragmatic Approach to Self Improvement For the Desperately Lazy

Renato
Human Development Project
3 min readDec 26, 2015

--

I am incapable/unwilling/too lazy to make and/or stick to effective personal goals.

But here is my workaround.

First, find a bunch of relevant life hacks (on lifehacker or reddit etc.) like:

  1. Wake up earlier
  2. Pay off credit card debt
  3. Meet new people
  4. Lose weight/get fit (but not too much…)
  5. Eat smaller portions
  6. Getting the right app for your resolution
  7. Get more sleep
  8. Do something for somebody
  9. Lend someone a helping hand
  10. Learn something new (for free)
  11. Exercise more (use the car less)
  12. Making an impromptu speech/toast
  13. How to fly solo in any social situation
  14. How to be a tightwad
  15. Living and working like nomad
  16. Meet someone you’ve never met before in a place you never been to (and have a great time)

It’s important to grab the ones that appeal to you. If you have to think about it then move on — it’s not for you.

If you can’t find a good hack you can always get someone else to do the dirty work for you. Like:

  1. Get that crowdfunding project setup for you
  2. Writing the spec for that app idea you’ve had for years
  3. Showing her you (still) love her
  4. Finding a business idea for you
  5. Designing a nutrition plan based on your lifestyle and goals

The gist

Smash all those hacks together.

Figure out which ones will give you the biggest bang for buck for the effort required.

THEN…dress it up like a personal goal or New Year’s resolution. E.g. ‘Look after my health’ or ‘Reduce stress in my life’ or ‘Launch my startup’ or ‘Pay it forward’ etc.

Pick the biggest, ‘best-est’ thing you can change about yourself with the least effort and/or time?

And forget about putting a deadline on it — if it’s worth doing then get it done now (as in right now).

What’s my New Year’s resolution?

Write more.

Hey, thanks for reading.

If you found this useful then I’d appreciate your recommendation or tweet. That would be very helpful.

I’m Renato.

I develop websites.

I’d love to build yours.

Find me at here.

--

--