I’m a Straight ally (And a Black Male)

Joshua Brown
Human Development Project
2 min readAug 1, 2015

“Gender identity is who you are; sexual orientation is who you love. Some transgender people do undergo hormone therapy or sex reassignment as part of their transition; some do not. And interestingly, their decision on this matter is, medically speaking, none of your f***ing business.”

-John Oliver

I feel its of ever increasing importance to disseminate viewpoints from different perspectives. Even those whom I don’t agree with, have provided me with helpful insight into the thinking of others, and assisted in the continuing evolution of my worldview.

I’ll begin by conveying my stance and the conclusions which led me to this position. I’m a straight-ally, which I loosely define as: a person who doesn’t share the sexual orientation of those in the LGBTQ community, yet stands on the side of equal and fair treatment for all.

As a young black American male, it’s not as common as it should be to find supporters of these sorts of social issues. That’s not to say there aren’t any who are supportive of the cause, but not enough of them are making their voices heard.

Often times, I find myself explaining to others why they need to be more open minded in their sociopolitical views. For instance, in the black community there’s a glaring issue with the level of hypocrisy. If we’re seeking equality on the basis of race, yet we utilize the language of oppression when speaking of gays, lesbians and trans people, are we really any different from those plantation owners who enslaved our ancestors?

With a not so distant past observable through the lens of blatant discrimination, and a present where ill feelings are returning to the surface, we should be embracing our differences and championing progressive thought. I wasn’t always interested in topics of this nature, but once I began to give them equal mind share alongside other issues, the importance of the foregoing became clear.

Some of this lack of understanding stems from a fear of the unknown, while for others its a matter of social convention and a desire to blend in. I challenge those in my peer group to resist the urge in forming a quick conclusion, and do the leg work behind thinking freely, beyond the constraints of doctrinal or societal norms.

Unabashedly,

Joshua Brown

--

--