The 4 Reasons Why I Don’t Use the N-word?

Bedford Palmer
Human Development Project
3 min readApr 11, 2016

--

The meaning of the word and all of its derivations amount to a description of something that is less than human. It was created in order to describe, things that were considered chattel. It was never meant to describe people, as those who coined it, did not see chattel as people. There is, in fact, no redeemable purpose for the continued use of the word, except in the case of the recounting of accurate historical terminology or in order to accurately record what a racist has said.

If I want to call someone my brother, I just call him my brother. If I want to insult that person, I can use a better and more specific term than the N-word to do so.

I said there was no redeemable purpose, but there is an irredeemable purpose. If someone calls you the N-word, you should be ready to defend yourself. The word is actually so insulting that one should expect to be attacked for its use, and would therefore only use it in order to initiate violence. Simply put, the N-word is noted as the worst insult in the English language.

Its just not cool. And that is the real issue with folks (of all ethnicities) using the N-word out of historical and rhetorical context. People want to sound cool. They want to sound like they are “hip,” “hood,” or “street,” or whatever. But again, it is not cool in the least. The reality is that it is the opposite. Being cool, in my opinion means that you stand out, that you are original, and that you are your own person.

To use the N-word is an act of utter conformity. It is a decision to fully embrace the violent systemic oppression, which has functioned for centuries. It is being made a fool by the twisting of your own reality in order to better fit into theirs, because the absolute truth is that the only way for the N-word to truly loose its meaning is for racist oppression to truly cease to exist.

Until that day, the use of the N-word is nothing more or less than degrading myself, my ancestors, my children, and all the people who have died with the N-word ringing in their ears.

Copyright 2016 Bedford E. F. Palmer II, Ph. D.

Visit my website for more information: www.drbfpalmer.com

Follow me on twitter @drbfpalmer

Like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/drbfpalmer

--

--

Bedford Palmer
Human Development Project

Licensed Psychologist & Professor. Interested in social justice, multiculturalism, mentoring, Black men, mindfulness, and politics. Cohost of Naming It Podcast.