Chicago Scavenger Hunt

Loop + South Loop

JJ
Human in a Machine World
2 min readJul 8, 2017

--

This scavenger hunt is designed to go from South Loop to the Loop. Of course, you can attempt it backwards to go the reverse route. Either way, if you find yourself backtracking a route, or significantly beyond the boundaries of Indiana-Wacker/18th-Monroe, you’re probably not on the right track.

  1. At the northeast corner of Indiana and 18th, look west to see a tilted black box. What does this questionable object control?
  2. In Chicago Women’s Park is a set of six. Some have five digits and some have twenty. Who is this set dedicated to?
  3. Turned away from a hundred headless giants is a relic dedicated to the poor, thanks to the dreams of a thirsty newsboy. What does the note carved around the relic say?
  4. At Eighth and Wabash, 25 expressionless faces address a societal issue. What is their message?
  5. I have a chain but I’m not a prisoner. I have a frame but I’m not a photo. Whenever I’m stopped, I line up. Wherever I go, I parade my city’s flag. What is the symbol on my shield?
  6. Head toward Adams and Dearborn to find the singular eye south of the 53-foot flamingo. What are the words in the ribbon below?
  7. The sun gives me energy and the people give me food. I have a special belly that is free to fill but costly to empty. You can give me anything but please not to my companion. What can you give my picky companion?
  8. West of Clark and east of Franklin, find the billowing anchors on Monroe. The southwest corner has a plaque inscribed with what some might mistake as an obscure usage of “data”. What is the title of this plaque?

Thanks to Chatfuel, I made a Facebook messenger bot for the scavenger hunt.

--

--