The Small Cabin project

MC Dean
Tech-Mind-Body
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2015

I was going through a difficult time in my life, the sort of time where everything changes and shifts, where everything you thought was solid starts to give way and become viscous beneath your feet.

During this time I did a lot of Yoga, walked endlessly, and drew a whole bunch of these cabins nestled in rock faces, with a tree beside them and a few stones falling in mid-air. The project really allowed me to indulge myself in my love of cabins in remote places, and explore those ideas a little more. They are originally A5 drawings in black ink.

The feeling that I wanted to express with this collection is one of safety in a wild place, finding that cosiness, perched right in the middle of a jagged rocky place. The black and white represent the extremes of life, and most of the time we exist in all of the shades of grey. When you strip those back, the reality of what was left for me was one of being securely balanced in an environment that could collapse at any time.

Life is fragile but you will find love there.

I took part in the Sketchbook project and made a little book with a Cabin picture on every page.

Here’s a taster:

Originally published at www.tinymonsterart.com on October 9, 2014.

--

--

MC Dean
Tech-Mind-Body

Head of Product @The Mintable | Designer | Maker | Meditator