Relishing the Moment Before Receiving News that Might Destroy Your Life:

Avuma Flatela
Human Opinions
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2023
Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

You know how sometimes something happens in your life that might change the whole trajectory of your life. I don’t mean in a good way.

I mean changing your life like finding out that you are sick or that your only source of income has been terminated. The moment right before you find out that life as you know it will never be the same again.

The moment right after the doctor says, “I just got your results.”

Savouring the moment right after those words.

When you have a letter back from the last university you applied to after getting rejected by all other universities. And you hold onto that unopened letter way longer than you should. Relishing the moment of ignorance you have.

You don’t know whether you will get to continue with your higher education or not. In that moment your life still hasn’t changed. You still have faith that things will work out exactly how you want them to.

You still have hope for the future and you know that opening that letter might kill that hope you have in your future.

As much as you want to take yourself out of the agony and anxiety of constantly worrying about the future. You cannot help but prolong your suffering by holding onto that unopened letter a little while longer.

For, in your hands you are holding your destiny. Your destiny might kill your hope or let it soar higher.

Tick tock, tick tock, tick tock, the clock goes. As you sit with the unopened letter in your hands, relishing the moment before receiving news that might destroy your life.

I’m having one of those moments right now. Please wish me luck on my news.

If you want to get a free gift from me, subscribe to my email list here.

If you are feeling generous, please support me as a writer by buying me coffee here. I would highly appreciate that.

--

--

Avuma Flatela
Human Opinions

I am a psychology student on my journey to becoming my best self. This is a personal development blog to help you enhance your life. avumaflatela@gmail.com