The Scent of Optimism

Sven Eisenschmidt
Human Relations
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2020

Inspired by “Together Is Better” by Simon Sinek

Leadership books, also known as books for (people) management or managers. One can spend a lifetime alone reading them, internalising the written word, becoming a great leader and still fail from time to time.

Throughout your life and your professional development you will find a lot of these books. Friends and peers along the way will give you great recommendations, and let’s be thankful for that. Like ‘you should begin with “Who Moved My Cheese”, “Start With Why”, “Act Like a Leader, Think Like a Leader”’. You come across well-written blog posts like “10 books every new manager should read”. You will read some, you will have “Aha!” moments and you will say, like I did, “how can I live up to these ideals?”. You don’t have to.

If you have ever found yourself in a meeting with me and the message you took away was that you do not meet (my) expectations; I am deeply sorry. My intention was not to make you feel scared, worthless or disrespected. If you ever found yourself sitting with a talent and saying or implying: “You do not meet (my) expectations”; take a step back. How would you feel if the roles were reversed? As a lead all of it is in your hands. Instead, I should ask: Are you happy? Do you feel your work has an impact? Do you see a purpose in what you are doing? Ask questions and you will find the answers: I am not happy. I seek guidance. Questions by the talent will follow: What is the purpose of my role? What is expected of my role? If not, keep asking. When the talent is comfortable and can answer honestly you will have created an environment of truth and trust that is worth far more than one hurtful statement. Together you will find the cause of a talent not meeting your expectations. A perceived decrease in performance or whatever you might assume is a symptom; explore the reason together.

One guiding belief of mine is that no one is driven by bad intentions. Always trust implicitly. Even evil genuises are driven by their own good cause. As a leader, be someone who supports their community and stands up to unwelcome behaviour.

In organisations, we come together as people working towards a goal. How we treat each other along the way is up to us. It all starts and ends with one simple belief: Together is better. Let this be your guide and strive to do everything in between to live up to it.

So here is my recommendation, take the time and read “Together Is Better” by Simon Sinek. It’s worth your time and everyone you are leading.

PS: The book is infused with optimism. Give it a sniff. (You will understand when you’ve read it, I promise.)

Originally published on LinkedIn in December 2018
https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/scent-optimism-sven-eisenschmidt/

--

--

Sven Eisenschmidt
Human Relations
0 Followers
Editor for

Tech Culture & Entrepreneurial Engineering.