300 Years of Scientific Method

andrew wong
Human Science AI
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2019

There was this interesting article that I read over this weekend in Australia Finance Review. It was actually an interview article with Professor Michio Kaku. He revealed human scientific method was just 300 years old.

I was like. Whoa. How much we have advanced human knowledge through experimentation, hypothesis testing, etc. Imagine 300 years more of scientific method. Or better still think about machine learning or data science or AI. It was started in the 1950s, that’s a short 70 years (if we are discounting the AI winter, in the 1970s), that’s 60 years, we have drive-less car, smart speaker, weather prediction, etc.

What if we start to mix more of different domain with data science. I’d think with a background in data science, we can start to play in other domains playground.

A case in point, I have a background in sociology, and now I am into data science. Each day, I have the opportunity to expand my horizons when I start to think about sociology and data science — mixing it, using sociological method into data science (vice versa).

Onward and upwards to another 300 years of Scientific Method (through data science!)

--

--