The Differences Between Paganism And Wicca

And Why Neither Are The Same As Witchcraft

BoomerTheWitch
Human Witch

--

When I first started getting into witchcraft, I thought that Wicca and witchcraft were actually the same thing, and that Wicca was not connected to Paganism or Christianity in any way. Oh, how wrong I was!

I’m still growing and learning as a witch and as a person in general, but as of right now, I consider myself a Pagan but not a Wiccan. However in my personal opinion, there is nothing wrong with being a Wiccan, or just practicing witchcraft without the ties of any religion.

The way I look at it, all these possible religions are like different trees within the forest of life.

Think of Paganism as a single tree.

Just like how the tree of Christianity has Catholicism as a branch, the tree of Paganism has multiple branches such as Wicca, Druidism, Buddhism, Asatru, and Hinduism, among many others. There are thousands of different religions that fall under Paganism.

Pagans typically worship nature as a whole along with the four elements — fire, earth, air, and water. Some Pagans worship multiple gods and goddesses. It’s basically an umbrella term for any religion that is not under Abrahamic origins.

Wicca is a single branch…

--

--

BoomerTheWitch
Human Witch

Hi! I’m Boomer and I have been doing witchcraft for about two years now. Here to teach any newbies or experienced witches out there.