Be The Driver

Jennifer Marshall
Human Friendly
6 min readFeb 13, 2017

--

As designers, our primary goal is to help our clients. Clients are people, just like you and me. In order to be a successful designer it is integral to be able to understand and communicate with clients, with people. I believe the more you know, the more well-rounded you are as a person, the better a designer you will be.

The following articles speak to this idea that you are in charge of your own life, you are the driver. I wanted to share my findings on The Day You Became A Better Designer by Tobias van Schneider and Frankly Speaking: How I Found Purpose by Francesco Marconi. The articles outline the importance of pushing the boundaries of your comfort zone and expanding your knowledge. When we learn about other areas of study or perspective, it can only help us as designers. It allows us to draw on a much wider and in-depth picture.

Tobias van Schneider, a self-taught designer speaks about the importance of going outside of your comfort zone in his article The Day You Became A Better Designer. He writes about the significance of learning about other areas of study, ones not directly related to design.

“The day I became a better designer was the day I started looking outside the design industry for inspiration. It was the day I started reading books about philosophy, psychology, art or science.”
— Tobias van Schneider

When I started university, five years ago I found I had made friends with many designers. It was easy, we thought similarly, worked similarly and exchanged supporting words on our works in progress. While I loved the classroom setting, I found that our conversations evolved around the same topics and we held most of the same views. I later joined a sorority, (and no it’s not like what it appears to be in the movies) and I was instantly surrounded by inspirational women from various fields and backgrounds. All of which held a different view on the world. Thinking about it know, it was the best decision I have made, not only for my social life but for my professional life as well. Although I have learned from my fellow classmates, I would argue that it does not compare to the amount of knowledge I have gained on areas like psychology, kinesiology, and engineering from the women I am so lucky to call my sisters.

Image source: http://www.anello.ca/2016/11/my-ctmindset-journey-into-coding-part-i/

As designers, we often find it more comforting to hang around those who think and work the same way we do. Although this can be beneficial at times, it can also hinder our ability to think like a consumer. After all, everything we do as designers has an end goal to fulfill the needs of the client and their customers. This is where I agree with Schneider undoubtedly. I love hanging with non-designers or anyone who challenges me to be better. I have grown into the person and designer I am today because of the new perspectives I have been immersed in.

This brings me to the topic of the second reading, Francesco Marconi’s Frankly Speaking: How I Found Purpose. This is the first article in a series of five, (which I highly recommend) which speak to Marconi’s version of his own “success” story. This ever-growing series is perfect go-to for any young designers that is looking for quick career tips.

After reading countless success stories, written by those who were already at the peak of their career, Marconi found he had a hard time relating as a young professional. I have to completely agree with Marconi on this one. Most the of success stories I have read recently have been written by professional who have “made it”. They rarely refer to the days of struggle or the hard times they went through in order to get to where they are today. I think understandably, it is hard as a young designer, at the beginning of my career, to relate.

In contrast, while reading Marconi’s “success” story, I was intrigued when his tips for success spoke to me personally. One of these tips included, having a hobby which will give you time to relax and regroup.

“A hobby always makes for a great story, especially if you can find something memorable. It can also yield better work performance and stronger personal and professional relationships. If you don’t have one yet, find one.”
— Francesco Marconi

I recently have undergone a lifestyle change and in doing so have changed my eating habits and now exercise everyday (okay maybe not everyday, but rest is important as well). Although this may sound silly, I feel that this change has directly impacted my design work, in particular my design process. I think working out is a lot like the design process. Please allow me to elaborate for those of you reading this thinking, she’s crazy!

Me, myself & process

When I first started working out, I would easily get discouraged when I did not see the results I was expecting. Time and time again I would look at myself in the mirror and think, how come it’s not working? What am I doing wrong?

With the support from those amazing sisters I mentioned earlier and my loving family, I stuck it out and continued my weekly routine at the gym. Months later, I went back to those same photographs I was once discouraged by and found pure happiness in the progress I had made. Now how does this relate to my design practice? Since my fitness journey began, I have a completely different view on process. I have learned that it’s not about the outcome, but the process itself. I now understand that you need to put in the work in order to get the best result. To paraphrase designer Bruce Mau, in order to get to where we haven’t been before, the process needs to drive the outcome. Process is now directly apparent in all of my work. I spend the majority of my time on a project gathering research, planning and sketching out all of the possibilities. My work reflects this as the resolutions I arrive at are thoroughly researched, meet the needs of the client and always address the intend goal. You can read more about this idea of process being the driving factor in my first blog post, Process Makes Perfect (a little self promotion never hurt anyone).

But enough about me, it’s time for you to find your hobby or creative outlet! I think both of these articles share a common theme, and that is you are the driver of your own life.

Gif source: http://imgur.com/gallery/g6kHk

To paraphrase entrepreneur Jim Rohn, design your own life plan! Learn — be a sponge, absorb as much as you can. You can find inspiration in the smallest of things. Most of all don’t be afraid to push boundaries and go outside of your comfort zone.

Jennifer Marshall

--

--