Just Stick to Designing

Emily Brown
Human Friendly
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2016

Every week in my Senior Capstone class a former Mizzou graphic design graduate who has “made it big” Skypes in to talk about where they are now. While eating my $4 omelet from Mort’s in the Student Center, I listen intently as these design All-Stars bestow wisdom upon us common folk. It definitely takes the wrap for best class ever.

As usually, my mind fills with many questions, but I restrain myself and only ask about 2–3 to avoid being “that person”. While all of my questions are thoughtful since “there is no such thing as a dumb question”, I want to share a specific one with you all.

Set scene: I am sitting in the front row (I know, only losers sit in the front). The speaker talks about how he started his own business which primarily designs web sites. He described his current workflow as 90% managing/writing copy and 10% designing. Immediately a question popped into my head. When time for Q&A arrived, I asked: “For someone who would like to get better at writing copy, what would you recommend them to do?” In all honesty, I already knew the answer. I just wanted to hear a designer’s perspective. He responded with: “Pick either copywriting or designing. Do not do both.” Well, that was not the answer I wanted to hear, nor was I expecting. Telling me not to do something is like telling a little kid not to touch expensive art. So Mr. Don’t-Do-Both, I accept your challenge! And here I am, starting a blog. What is it going to be about, you may ask? Life? Design? Food? Who knows. Stay tuned to find out. And hopefully I become better at writing copy along the way.

Originally published at emilygraphicdesigner.com.

--

--

Emily Brown
Human Friendly

Talking about what I know // Freelance Graphic Designer