An Interview with Bwambale M. Robert — School Director, Kasese Humanist Primary School

Scott Douglas Jacobsen
Humanist Voices
Published in
6 min readMar 18, 2017

--

Image Credit: Robert Bwambale.

How did you become involved in humanism? When was the moment, or series of moments, that eventually led into you becoming an open humanist?

In the early years of 2000 I became critical of religion, in the year 2000 when I started being skeptical about the natural world and things in it, was asking myself questions, asked religious people plus other people both in school and out of school and their answers to my queries did not satisfy me, so I became critical and curious of religion. Through my research online, I stumbled about humanists. Humanism/Atheism and Rationalism and since then I later joined organized humanism by creating in place a community based organization.

Was there a family background?

Yes, am from an Anglican back ground.

Is humanism demonized in Uganda, or an accepted minority philosophical and ethical worldview?

Humanism is demonized by religious zealots who want to paint a bad picture on humanism so that people can tag it and the majority remain believing that being religious is the only way to success, a great life which actually is not the case.

To some extend I think Humanism in Uganda is an accepted minority philosophical & ethical worldview.

--

--