Congratulations to Samantha Slattery, MS in Humanitarian Studies Graduate and Fordham GSAS Student Graduation Speaker

May 16, New York — It is with great pleasure that we announce that this year’s Fordham University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences’ student speaker was our own Samantha Slattery, one of the Master of Science in Humanitarian Studies students that make up the program’s first cohort.

Sam was put to the difficult task of addressing not merely a group of highly diverse, specialized graduate students with newly earned qualifications but, more fundamentally, a group of students transitioning into an atmosphere that none could have planned for when each began their degree or, even, their final semester. Nonetheless, Sam was able to satisfy listeners as both accomplished graduates (and friends/families) and as human beings simpliciter, all subject to the uncertainty of the times.

It is with a particular adroitness that she weaves her own story — where her “scuffy red desert boots” have taken and will take her — into the larger narrative of Fordham’s small but quality production of future leaders that the world, indeed, needs now more than ever. As a former Fordham undergraduate and now humanitarian studies student, Sam understands the significance of a degree that, ultimately, is meant to produce “men and women for others.” Despite the myriad of specialities and future endeavors of her distinguished audience, Sam was wise in focusing on this simple credo that unites.

Representing the type of “lifelong student” that seems common around the Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs, Sam notes that her education has always taught her to “listen before leading, to question what matters the most in my life”. Let us, then, listen once more to her insight before we send her off — as she is most ready — to lead.

Greetings to the faculty, staff, administrators, friends, and family thank you for the support throughout the years that lead us to this special day.

And to my fellow GSAS graduates

My name is Sam Slattery and I walked into Fordham’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences orientation day approximately 631 days ago. As per my previous first days of school- in middle school, high school, and as an undergraduate here at Fordham- I was gripped by a familiar nervousness but also an edge of excitement for the unknown of what was to come: Who would I meet? What would I learn? And the doubts- would I ask the right questions? Would I be smart enough?

I remember it was a gorgeous summer day where I met the incredible GSAS staff, my fellow humanitarian studies classmates, as well as students from other departments: Public Media, Psychology, and Ethics and Society to name a few. After brief introductions, a group of students and I started to play icebreaker games. One student asked, “where is the most interesting place you have been in your shoes?” I looked down at my scuffy red desert boots, hoping no one would notice I was accidentally wearing mismatched socks. My old pair of shoes had been on many exciting adventures, no doubt. Yet I began to wonder, where would these shoes go? Or rather, where would my Fordham education take me?

As a humanitarian studies student, it took me across the world: to Lebanon, Spain, Morocco, Greece, Turkey, Ireland, and beyond. Where I learned the power of partnership with local communities affected by conflict and disaster, and the importance of community at the center of all aspects of the humanitarian response to enhance and strengthen, rather than replace and undermine, local capacity in times of crisis. My Fordham education has taught me to listen before leading, to question what matters the most in my life, and most importantly, that we have a shared responsibility to stand in solidarity with those marginalized within our communities and a commitment to support communities experiencing systematic oppression. This is especially true, given our current situation in our world today.

For me- these last two years in graduate school have been full of challenges but has also reawakened a feeling I only felt as a child looking at the stars. Yet this time it was not through the lenses of toy telescopes or rocket ships, but rather though the debates over the application of international humanitarian law, affirming state sovereignty as responsibility, and the many group projects that bonded my classmates together as a family.

And I witnessed Fordham graduate education take my fellow classmates to remarkable places as well: to sharing their ideas at international conferences, through advancing knowledge through their research, and standing up to injustice in the world.

You see, when we together embarked on our Fordham journeys, we knew of the trials ahead- the many thoughtful revisions to the many drafts of our thesis’ and dissertations, the late nights of grading papers for some, and the landing of competitive internships to help turn our theoretical knowledge into practical experience.

And from the beginning, we as the Fordham GSAS class of 2020 knew that all of this hard work would culminate into a memorable graduation day. Yet did you ever imagine our graduation ceremony would be happening online, face masks at the ready while following the social distance guidelines of a minimum of six feet apart from the loved ones that we are so ready to embrace?

We, the Fordham GSAS Class of 2020, are entering a world very different than the one we expected or imagined. Yet as men and women for others- philosophers, economists, scientists, humanitarians, storytellers, and thinkers- leaders all- it is a world that needs us.

I have been hearing that we are embarking through uncharted waters on different ships, battling against the same storm. As Fordham GSAS graduates, we are ready for what lies ahead and will be the shapers and pioneers of a new normal- through our thoughtful leadership and unwavering values.

Today I look down at a new pair of shoes, wondering the same questions: where will I go? Where will my Fordham education take me? As we say our virtual farewells, uncertain of when we will come together again, I take comfort in knowing that our resilience and fortitude will lead us back to one another, to celebrate the graduating Fordham GSAS class of 2020. Congratulations!

And until then: stay safe, stay healthy, and stay well. Congratulations again, thank you.

About the IIHA
The Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs (IIHA) prepares current and future aid workers with the knowledge and skills needed to respond effectively in times of humanitarian crisis and disaster. Our courses are borne of an interdisciplinary curriculum that combines academic theory with the practical experience of seasoned humanitarian professionals. The IIHA also publishes on a wide range of humanitarian topics and regularly hosts a number of events in the New York area, including the annual Design for Humanity Summit.

For more information or media inquiries, please contact: Camille Giacovas, Communications & Research Officer, cgiacovas@fordham.edu

--

--

Institute of International Humanitarian Affairs
HumanitarianPulse

Please refer to our LinkedIn page for the most up-to-date IIHA news. Email iihaoutreach@fordham.edu to sign up for our current 2024 newsletter!