Inner child | Personal Growth

When Guilt Speaks (Understanding and Healing Childhood Wounds)

By connecting with our inner child

Love, Lisa
Humanity Academy
Published in
4 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

“I feel guilty…” they say.

“What does the guilt want to say?” I ask

“That I don’t actually deserve a break. That I am lazy,” they respond.

“When did you receive the message that you were lazy when you were growing up?”

“Oh. I dunno. All the time I guess. Like anytime I went to pick up a book to read, or sat down to draw.”

This is not just a one-off conversation with a client.

It is a common tale I hear daily where an emotion experienced in the now is linked to messaging from the past.

“How old were you when you first received this message?” I ask.

“I was 8 or 9, something like that. I was supposed to be out mowing the lawn, but I had an idea for a drawing — so I started putting it on paper… And then I got yelled at... Then the mower drowned my tears.”

And there it is.

We stuff a part of our authentic desire for an adaptive way of being

--

--

Love, Lisa
Humanity Academy

Counsellor | Artist | Poet | Equine Facilitated Wellness | Co-Founder Humanity Academy | Free Courses www.humanityacademy.life