Make it as average as you can

-CHAPTER 6-

Daan Arisz
Humanity Dawns
4 min readMar 5, 2020

--

Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Making a living does not mean making a life.

Roughly 98% of the population is a crucial part of the whole in their own way, but only 2% make an impact on everyone.

Many want to get off the hamster wheel and just breathe, but many never do. Sheer hard work may turn that wheel into a ladder, but what if it doesn’t? What if all your treading and climbing goes to waste? Does that mean that nothing you did mattered? Of course not.

It is better to love someone or something, than have all the materialistic things in the world. So why do we think it is better to keep chasing wealth, instead of being happy with what you got?

It’s all so broken, and yet so perfect.

As the saying goes: “we’re buying stuff we don’t need, with money we don’t have, to impress people we don’t like.” I think having the feeling of ‘when will the chase end’ is something we all wonder about. For me it is a constant feeling of filling of some hole in my heart that, which in the end, can’t be filled by wealth or stuff. Gadgets are my weakness. It gives me a jolt when I come across something new. I’m feeling alive. Tracking it down and reading all the reviews is like the primal feeling of going on a hunt. I wondered how to stop buying the things I bought, but ever wondered why I bought stuff. I found out that for me it is a compensation method after an event happened in my life that I had no control over. Gadgets give me a sense of getting some control back in a world that keeps moving faster and faster away from us. At least the idea of control.

I started to look at what I had, not at what I didn’t have and badly wanted to have. It’s not easy in this world, that screams at every possible moment you should get more and more, but I felt it was necessary to look what I had to feel happy. Try it. And if that isn’t enough to cheer you up, make someone else feel happy. That will, in turn, make you feel more happy.

Do not worry if you aren’t constantly happy. Humans aren’t designed to be constantly happy; from an evolutionary stand point, we are designed to survive and reproduce. We have done so for many thousands of years. So feeling unhappy at times is not a shortcoming that needs a form of repair; it is what makes you human.

And it is just fine to be average. It sounds like it is the opposite of success, but it is all about perspective. Being average as a goal sounds bad, but as result it is a good place to be. It all depends on what you are comparing it to. I aspire to be a writer, but I know that I’m not the greatest writer ever. I’m just writing about what I see in life, and what my views and thoughts on the human condition are. It is just too stressful to constantly have the burden of being the greatest at something and striving to do something perfect. I’ll take my tea relaxed and average, please.

Doing the best that you can is perfection in itself. Others just have to dare to look at it from your perspective, which hardly happens anymore. Don’t think that when someone has created something beautiful, that somehow that is the way to success. It is pointless to blindly copy someone else’s work, because it already has bin done and it already exists. One of something is enough in this universe. Allow yourself to become inspired by the work of others, and only take what you see in it into your own reality. Try to do your own thing in your own perfect way. Improvise, Adapt and Adopt.

I’m still trying to find my way by trying to fill the hole and the hunt with something meaningful and sustainable. Feeling average should not hold you back, it should set you free. Most things stopping you in life come from either thinking without doing, or by doing without thinking. So stop overthinking, and start overdoing.

Never lose your curiosity. Because then you are not living anymore, just waiting to die.

Join us at Humanity Dawns, where we bring to light the darker parts of our humanity.

--

--

Daan Arisz
Humanity Dawns

Interesting thoughts and side notes on life in general; I write them fearlessly. I edit them mercilessly.