Am I living life on repeat?

Over and over and over again….

Neti
Human Pathfinding
3 min readMar 10, 2021

--

What is in it for you below is a series of articles I have decided to publish here weekly, that will give you a different perspective on life. I like writing and I like Core Energy Leadership Coaching, so that is what is in it for me.

Have you watched Groundhog day?

If not, here is the IMDB trailer (spoiler alert!): it is the same gloomy strange day, repeating over and over and over again.

This quote from the movie stood out to me, I have a feeling many people can relate this past year (I certainly do some days!):

“It’s the same thing every day, clean up your room, stand up straight, pick up your feet, take it like a man, be nice to your sister, don’t mix beer and wine ever, Oh yeah, don’t drive on the railroad tracks.”

(Phil Connors, main character)

What is obvious to me here is the distinct sense of resignation, of repetitiveness, lack of excitement, hopelessness — and a sprinkle of humour!

Given that Phil Connors is living the same day on repeat, day after day, it makes so much sense that he’d experience that sense of repetitiveness and even a bit of a dead-end mentality.

Aren’t we all stuck in a loop this past year?

Staying at home a lot, maybe working from home, exercising from home, inviting entertainment at home….?

Actually, there is another way to look at the facts, another way to look at reality.

And for each of us that would be something different, something unique.

But how??

The above statement is a typical example of Level 1 energy (feeling stuck). The humour indicates a splash of Level 3 energy (coping).

It is, in its essence, not leading to any activity. Loom and Doom all around are in the air.

How could we change that? This is how the same statement looks like in the higher energy levels:

In Level 2: ready for action, getting some “angry” energy

“It’s so annoying, the same thing every day, clean up your room, stand up straight, pick up your feet, take it like a man, be nice to your sister, don’t mix beer and wine ever, Oh yeah, don’t drive on the railroad tracks. I cannot stand this anymore”

In Level 3: the silver lining, even though I still “hate it”

“It’s the same thing every day, clean up your room, stand up straight, pick up your feet, take it like a man, be nice to your sister, don’t mix beer and wine ever, Oh yeah, don’t drive on the railroad tracks. But that is okay. I am happy that I can move, have some family around, and I got a car”

In Level 4, I still hate it but I could help alleviate the pain for others:

“It’s the same thing every day, clean up your room, stand up straight, pick up your feet, take it like a man, be nice to your sister, don’t mix beer and wine ever, Oh yeah, don’t drive on the railroad tracks. I can help others who are struggling in some way, at least they will feel better for it. They must also be struggling.”

Conclusion? We cannot always choose reality, but we can learn how to choose our perspective on it. IT CAN BE TAUGHT AND LEARNED!!!

If you want to see more articles like this, you can subscribe here:

http://eepurl.com/hsLozb

Photo by Ben Hershey on Unsplash

Levels of energy: iPEC

Level 1: Feeling lost. Stuck. Lack of choice. I can’t. I have to. Fearful.

Level 2: Anger. Combativeness. Resisting or fighting energy.

Level 3: Rationalizing. Fine. Coping.

Level 4: Care. Compassion. Service to others.

Level 5: Reconciliation. Win-win. Solution-focused.

Level 6: Intuition. Creative genius. Visionary.

Level 7: Absolute Passion. Non-judgment. Oneness.

--

--

Neti
Human Pathfinding

My mission is to ignite you, disrupt your version of “normal” and remind you to shine your light so that you can be wildly successful and happy, right now.