The Rise of The Humanpreneur

Val Geisler
Humanpreneur
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2015

Oh, man. I’m tired of all of the posturing that goes on with so many online businesses. I’m exhausted by the “Make 6 Figures in 6 Weeks!” and “Work Less Than 10 Hours and Make Thousands!” and “Follow This Formula For Ultimate Success!”

My friend Racheal Cook put it so well when she said “ …a business that loves you back creates space for what matters most, to you.” (You can read the whole soulful article here: http://bit.ly/1CxMWGH)

YES! What matters most to you? IS IT a 6 figure business? Do you even know what that looks like if you achieve it? Or is what matters most to you possible meeting your kids at the school bus? Having an office in a highrise downtown? Living out of an RV while you travel the country? What is *your* definition of success?

Racheal and I had this very conversation last week and it lit me up inside. I said to her “There are all of these income reports showing $25,000, $76,000, or even $13,000 per month. What if people could see the same income reports for businesses earning $6,000 per month? $8,000? Would it make people more comfortable? More confident? More open? What if those of us in the middle open up a bit more?”

See, the 6+ figure mark feels so incredibly far off for so many people. It was for me when I started out. I was just interested in replacing my annual salary from the job I left behind. I couldn’t fathom earning over $10k each month.

And here’s the thing: I’m still not at that mark. I don’t know that I will be any time soon (although my accountant tells me otherwise). Running a business with that kind of income takes a team, lots of setup, and the take-home pay certainly doesn’t have 5 zeros behind it annually. If your business grew to that point tomorrow would you be ready for it?

Racheal says her business is big enough. I’m not ready to say that about my own (she’s been at it twice as long as I have, mind you) but I’m almost there. I’m not building an empire …. I’m building a mission and a life.

I’m spending the rest of this year interviewing business owners about their own definition of success. We’re talking real numbers (yes, financials) and finding out what the dream is for each of these incredibly courageous people. I’m sharing these interviews within the walls of It’s Not Complicated and I am beyond thrilled to give this gift to the entrepreneurial community.

It’s time to remember the human beings behind the business. It’s time for the Humanpreneur.

--

--

Val Geisler
Humanpreneur

Email conversion strategist for SaaS and membership-based brands. Writer. Mom. Yogi. Feminist. #emailgeek www.valgeisler.com