My Dream House

LiveRunGrow
Humans Are Stories
Published in
7 min readJul 15, 2023
Photo by Mercedes Mehling on Unsplash (Maine)

My dream house is a landed property by the coast.

I imagine that my bedroom will be facing the magnificent vast blue sea. Each morning, when I draw back my curtains to welcome a new day, I am greeted by a breathtaking picture of the sea and golden rays of sunshine falling softly on my face. As I look out into the far distance, occasionally, I will spot a white sail or a speed boat surrounded by the expanse of the vast blue sea. Not far away, I might see the outlines of mountains, covered partially by misty clouds.

I imagine that I’ll install big transparent windows, that extend from the ceiling to the floor, as the walls of my home. With this design, I will be able to take in the full view of my beautiful surroundings without any obstruction. Of course, to maintain my privacy, I’ll custom-make the windows such that it is visible from the inside but not visible from the outside.

When I open the windows to let the cool sea breeze rush into my bedroom and embrace me, I will be covered with the perfume of the salty sea mingled with the fragrance of tropical blooms nearby.

I will hear the symphony of the big blue waves crashing against the shoreline as their rhythmic melody fills the house and soothes my soul. Squeals of big white seagulls flying in the air occasionally punctuate the air.

In this tranquil haven, I’ll close my eyes and take a deep breath to embrace the possibilities of a new day.

Photo by Jiayu Chan on Unsplash

Perhaps I’ll have an open balcony where I’ll spend my mornings eating my breakfast. With a steaming cup of milk tea or a refreshing glass of soya milk in my hand, I will continue to immerse myself in the breathtaking sights in front of me. As I take the first bite of the bun on my plate and swallow a sip of my drink, I will feel truly blessed and happy to have found my tiny spot at the side of the sea. Time will seem to stand still and I will wish that the morning never ends.

Each sip, each bite, accompanied by the melody of the ocean, will become a cherished moment that I know I’ll never get tired of, even if I repeat this routine every day.

I envision that I will spend my free time taking leisurely strolls along the picturesque coastlines of beaches, collecting seashells of varying shapes along the way.

Whether it’s the tranquil hush of the night after a satisfying dinner or a much-needed respite from the demands of work, these coastal walks will be my escape into serenity. With each step I take, the soft yellow sands will crumble under my toes. I’ll print the shapes of my feet on the sands from one end of the coast to the other. Occasionally, I will dip my toes or swim in the waters to enjoy the cool chilly embracement of the waters.

Carrying a trusty notebook, I’ll seize moments of inspiration to pen down my reflections, record my innermost feelings and capture the beautiful scenery around me. I’ll find a nice secluded corner of the coast, far from the bustle of crowds, settle upon a weathered rock, and start to immortalize the scene in front of me on paper by sketching or painting. Alongside, I’ll bring my phone and snap lots of photos and videos.

Photo by Spencer Watson on Unsplash

In the evenings, I will run on pathways that wind their way along coastal houses. As I put each foot down, I’ll feel blessed and lucky to be alive and healthy. I’ll sync my footsteps with the rhythmic crashing of the waves.

I’ll keep my eyes attached to the sunset sky, admiring the ever-changing painting canvas splashed with different shades of red, orange, or even salmon pink.

As I run past each exquisitely decorated coastal house of my neighbours, I’ll take note of their designs and admire their architecture. I’ll wave to my friendly neighbours and greet fellow joggers.

After my run, I will take a quick shower and make my dinner in the kitchen. I imagine I will have an outdoor kitchen, one that is covered by a roof that can be extended during rainy days or collapsed when I am cooking to let the smoke or gas to escape into the sky.

I will also have rows of home-grown potted plants by the side, such as tomatoes or basil leaves, which I can conveniently source my ingredients from as I prepare my meals.

I imagine it to look something like the one below.

Photo by Monique on Unsplash

For convenience's sake, the dining table could be located right beside the kitchen :)

The interior of my house will contain a mix of styles, blending the timeless elegance of Chinese design with the contemporary elements of Western modernity.

Maybe I’ll have vibrant mosaic-style or colored panels adorning my walls, such as the ones below. I’ll incorporate my favorite childhood Disney characters into the designs. I’ll use lots of bright rainbow colors so that the interior of my house will always look cheery and bright amidst the backdrop of the coastal surroundings.

I will stick photo frames, decorated with seashells collected from the coast, on the walls. I will hang whistling wind chimes along the doorways of my house so that they make a melodic sound when the coastal wind blows.

Photo by Meriç Dağlı on Unsplash

Perhaps the layout of my house will resemble a circle or a square-shaped Chinese courtyard, where in the middle lies an exquisite mini Chinese garden. It will resemble the Classical Gardens (绿园) that you see in Suzhou.

In the garden, I will grow Bonsai trees, Peony flowers, and other plant specimens according to the season.

The focal point of the garden will be a mini pavilion with curved roofs, painted red and black. Within the pavilion, there will be a table containing teapots and teacups. The pavilion will be surrounded by a shimmering pond with graceful koi fishes swishing about and rocks dotting the base.

When I have guests in my house, we can choose to sit under the shelter of the pavilion, sip fragrant tea, and have heartfelt conversations while taking in the views of my mini Suzhou garden or the coastal sea through my windows. This will be our own tiny paradise in the big big world.

Photo by X. Wen on Unsplash

As an avid reader, I’ll dedicate an entire floor in my coastal house to house my books and a workstation in the corner. This will be the part of the house where I will spend my last few hours before going to bed every day. Neat rows of shelves will hold a vast collection, encompassing various genres like historical fiction, self-help, and travel guides.

At night, before I go to bed, I will turn on Classical piano music or Chinese instrumental music to serve as the backdrop while I read the books to my heart’s content. Perhaps I will also install a mini projector and a wide screen for me to play movies, transforming the area into a movie theatre. It’ll be a space where literature and film intertwine, allowing me to immerse myself in captivating stories.

Photo by Pickawood on Unsplash

I envision my dream house to be located in a place that offers the beauty of four seasons. Ideally, I get to be in close proximity to both the serene sea and the majestic mountains. Whether nestled in a charming coastal town like Maine or Cadaqués or residing in a vibrant coastal city such as Honolulu or Miami, I will have the freedom to immerse myself in nature’s embrace or venture into nearby urban areas whenever I crave human connection or the lively energy of city life.

I don’t know if this dream will ever come true in my lifetime, but it’s always nice to have a dream.

The End :)

--

--

LiveRunGrow
Humans Are Stories

𓆉︎ 𝙳𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚖𝚎𝚛 🪴𝙲𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚝𝚘𝚛 👩‍💻𝚂𝚘𝚏𝚝𝚠𝚊𝚛𝚎 𝚎𝚗𝚐𝚒𝚗𝚎𝚎𝚛 ☻ I write & reflect weekly about software engineering, my life and books. Ŧ๏ɭɭ๏ฬ ๓є!