Izza Effendi, 8th grade

Danielle Mancuso
Humans of Duchesne
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2021

“Middle School has been a lot different from Lower School in many ways, including more privileges like getting to wear bracelets and rings. But there’s also been more friendship issues and drama. What I’ve learned from that is to make new friends but keep the old, like that Girl Scouts song. I think it’s really important to stay in touch with old friends, even if you do find new ones. Currently, I do have a set friend group, but I also hang out with other friends, too. I’ve learned that you can be friends with a bunch of people. From entering middle school to leaving middle school, it’s different with lots of changes, ranging from being able to wear bracelets to the friends you have. I’m going to end up staying at Duchesne for high school, and luckily I do have a few friends staying here with me, but I honestly can’t even be sure if my friends will stay the same. That’s one thing that worries me. I don’t know if I’ll be able to stay in touch with them or not. One thing I do know to expect from high school is a lot of homework. I’m not sure how much exactly, but I expect a good amount. High school is a combination of excitement and nerves. I honestly don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, but I know my plan for the next few years is to try a bunch of different stuff and see what I’m really interested in. Eighth grade will always be a memorable time for me. It’s really taught me to make new friends and keep the old.”

--

--