Moeka Ishiyama

Lucy Adams
Humans of Duchesne
Published in
1 min readApr 29, 2021

“When I moved to Houston, I had a hard time understanding what people were saying because I didn’t understand English. Also, there were cultural differences. For the language part, my teachers helped me a lot. When I spent time with my friends, I learned how to talk. [Not being able to express myself] was uncomfortable at first, but I kind of got used to it, and I thought it was just a matter of time. I just tried hard to pay attention in class and ask questions to teachers. The biggest difference between Japan and the U.S. is that the U.S. is more open and free. I know we have dress codes, but dress codes are more strict in Japan and everyone is more welcoming here. It took me half a year to pick up the language; it wasn’t easy, but I tried hard because I think it’s good to be persistent. Don’t give up!”

--

--