Ms. Burton (English)

Lindsey Watson
Humans of Duchesne
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2021
Ms. Burton sitting at her desk reading her bible

“I’m not a natural teacher, or at least I don’t think I’m a natural teacher. I am not always the most well-spoken individual because I stumble over things. I’m the baby of my family, so I grew up not really feeling like I had a voice. That’s an experience that a lot of us have. So I think at the back of my mind there’s always this conflict between the position I was put in with great purpose contrasting with what do I have to offer. Any time a student returns and takes time out of their life to reflect on how I impacted them or imparted wisdom, whether intentionally or unknowingly, and they thank me and acknowledge that I somehow, through perhaps divine intervention, contributed to them becoming who they wanted to be, it is definitely moments like that where I get confirmation that I invested in something meaningful, that it was worth being uncomfortable in my profession. There is a continual test of ‘What can I give? Will it be received? Am I in the right place at the right time for the right people?’ At the end of college and early when I got started teaching, doors opened that I didn’t necessarily ask to be opened, and doors closed that made other options clearly not the way my life was supposed to go. I find myself being incredibly grateful that I submitted to God’s will above my own because I think it’s been more rewarding.”

--

--