Dion S.

FYS 1010
Humans of FYS
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017

My life on campus has changed a lot. When I first entered school, I figured I could get away with things like I did in high school by not doing all the homework and not having to study for all of my tests. Later, I realized that it’s not the same in anyway. My high school life was a lot easier and I feel was more centered for me to pass. My college life is more independent in my opinion. A lot of the assignments and information was found out by myself. The ways I’ve changed from my former self, I believe are for the better. At first, I didn’t really care about school and just didn’t want to do any work, but now I feel more obliged to my work and to do the best I can in school.

The best thing advice I can offer for someone new entering my position is don’t spend all your time with your friends and don’t get too involved with people that don’t really have goals in their lives because it causes a lot of distractions when it comes to your studies. Also, your friends will be there even when your work is done, so it’s best to get all of your responsibilities done. I feel as though if I followed these guidelines earlier in my college career that I would be doing better overall in my classes. Overall, I realized that my classes are important and that this is an important step into my future. The things I’ve learned in my FYS class have helped me a lot. It gave me ideas for better study habits and to enjoy myself in the process. It told me good things to do while in class taking notes so that I can better pay attention and actually listen to the material.

--

--