Rachel S.

FYS 1010
Humans of FYS
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017

My first semester at Wayne State was completely different than I could have ever imagined. I went into the school year with intentions of being a nurse and now I’m debating if that’s even what I want to do with my life. I struggled a lot with my Biology lecture and it seemed that no matter how hard I studied or felt I understood the material, I just couldn’t get the grade I wanted. With my less than satisfactory outcome in that class, it led me to believe that the medical field might not be the career path for me. I looked into criminal justice as my new career choice. I’m still not sure on exactly what I want to do but I know I have to figure it out.

Unfortunately, I had a lot of struggles with my living arrangements at school and with my health which were unforeseen circumstances hindering my first semester. Thankfully my professors were all understanding and truly concerned for me and that helped ease the added anxiety. Also, my roommate, Allie, and my boyfriend Stephan were supportive through everything.

My study habits that I worked on forming this semester are still not as solid as I would hope for them to be. I have a feel for what helps me and does not help me, but I am still working on minimizing my habit of procrastinating tough assignments. My FYS class has certainly helped me learn ways to break my bad cycle and now I will have to use these tips on my own to improve my success throughout the rest of my college career. What I found most useful to me was learning to make a schedule. It really helped me personally with time management and reducing my habit of procrastination. I am thankful to have been able to overcome a lot of my issues in school with the help of my FYS class, all my supportive friends and amazing professors. I feel I have a bright future at Wayne State and I am super excited for my next semester here and the three years that follow.

--

--