HUMANS OF RINGWOOD: Will you know me then?

Lynne Wintergerst
Humans of Ringwood
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2020
Unknown source

My heart is breaking and rivers pour from my eyes

I hear anguished animal sounds rising up in my throat

I’m not weeping. I’m wailing loudly now

It doesn’t sound like me and scares me witless

But my hands grip the steering wheel

As I negotiate the near deserted streets.

My whole face is wet and my nose begins to run

Disgusting drool trickles from my contorted mouth

I don’t care.

Even when a car pulls up beside me at the lights

And I feel his eyes looking at me

I don’t care.

I can’t control this, can’t pretend it didn’t just happen

Somehow I know I must let this grief overwhelm me

I must face it head on, feel it in every untouched part of me

It has never been this bad before

It can never be this bad again or I’ll die …

That bounce-back part of me might perish

Like a too-often stretched rubber band.

I’m adrift now, given over to anguish.

Now TIME will steal our exquisite moments

We cannot recapture moments of laughter, of stories, of bliss …

You will be different when this is over, forever changed … grown

I pray, God, that we will one day, someday, who knows when

Hold each other tightly again, beating heart to beating heart

Look deeply into smiling eyes, recognise and remember … love.

--

--