Charles Handy, Writer, Lecturer and Leading Management Thinker

On Purpose
Humans On Purpose
Published in
1 min readSep 3, 2015

For goodness sake do something you believe in. Because if you don’t believe in it, if you don’t think it’s important, and if you don’t think it will in some way be useful, make a difference to somebody, to something, you won’t stick with it.

By all means experiment in your twenties because you don’t know what you are good at, at that stage. You don’t know what your talents really are… but once you settle for something make sure, make sure you believe in it. Don’t just do it for the money. Don’t just do it for its fun… I mean like I did in Shell… It was interesting, I learnt a lot, but I knew, I knew, that I couldn’t go on doing it because, quite honestly I didn’t believe in it enough for my life. Not that it isn’t important shipping oil around the world but it isn’t me. So do something that you believe in, and then you’ll do it seriously and then you’ll do it well, and then the rewards will be exciting.

Charles Handy, Writer, Lecturer and Leading Management Thinker

--

--

On Purpose
Humans On Purpose

Our mission is to create an economy that works for all— one that is fair & sustainable in the long-term. We run programmes developing leadership for this future