Joel Defries, Tenancy Sustainment Team Worker

On Purpose
Humans On Purpose
Published in
1 min readMay 5, 2015

By helping people who are vulnerable, what is that? That doesn’t speak to people. If I was helping rich people I would get money!

I suppose I am their rod. I am their human rod. Or net. It depends how you catch your fish.

I have found it to be… not as inspiring as I had hoped. I thought I would have the ability to change lives but that wasn’t the case but what it has made me realise is that there are a whole wealth of people who are not getting the support & help they need and instead we as a society decide to demonise them instead of helping them.

What inspires me is change. Can I, or do I have it in me to help change something that is inherently set. And that is my motivation for going to work. Can I change the way this person thinks? Can I encourage a different form of thought? And it is these subtle shifts that can produce amazing change.

Joel Defries, Tenancy Sustainment Team Worker

--

--

On Purpose
Humans On Purpose

Our mission is to create an economy that works for all— one that is fair & sustainable in the long-term. We run programmes developing leadership for this future