How I Adapted the Pomodoro Technique to Improve My ADHD Procrastination

All the productivity, none of the clock watching

Anna Martín
Humans with ADHD

--

Photo by Alexandr Podvalny on Unsplash

The first article I found on how to combat my ADHD paralysis promised me the world.

“ADHD Paralysis? The Pomodoro technique will make you a productivity machine.”

It was positioned as a saviour. A hack too simple to ignore.

I mean, come on, all I have to do is set a timer for 25 minutes and then just work? Anyone can do that. Even me.

No more staring at a blank screen, hoping my fingers will start typing. No more procrastinating on my chores. The Pomodoro technique was my beacon of hope.

Except… the ADHD mind is more stubborn than a timer.

Don’t get me wrong. It works — sometimes. But when the ADHD mind doesn’t want to work, timers can be delayed, shortened, ignored, and forgotten about.

So what do you do when the ADHD is really, ya know, ADHD-ing? How can you get started on the projects that need your attention? The chores that after 3 weeks of ignoring, can no longer go unignored?

You have to get creative with it.

That’s why I adapted the Pomodoro technique to work even when I’m riding the struggle bus. And while…

--

--

Anna Martín
Humans with ADHD

Owner of Anna's Digital Studio. Gentle Productivity. Notion Magic. Creative Chaos. annasdigitalstudio.com