Change your Mind, Change your Life

Learn to Live in “Percent Complete Mode”

Setting a target less than 100% is vital for my ADHD brain

Jody Gates
Humans with ADHD
Published in
5 min readApr 7, 2024

--

Progress Bars are Hard — Dalle-3 Generated by Author

Having a deadline or needing to complete everything can be exhausting, especially for an ADHD brain. I’m learning to embrace the steps now instead of the final result. If I can check off boxes that are steps towards completion, that can be as meaningful as finishing the project, if not more so. This flies in the face of my disdain for the glib “enjoy the process” advice so easily given, I guess maybe it’s similar, but it isn’t.

Not a Member? Visit my Friend Link to read this story!

I have a strong need to feel like I’ve “moved the needle” on any given day that I’ve been working. Too often I will have forgotten what I did on the previous day and feel like since I didn’t FINISH anything, I didn’t DO anything. Looking at percentages, even figuratively, lets me start to feel content with a day that seemed to have no accomplishments.

Recognizing Two Versions of Success

Completing a project or achieving a goal is the definitive version of success. You get the trophy, you see the end result, someone is pleased and generally, you feel like you’re done and can walk away.

--

--

Jody Gates
Humans with ADHD

Just a man trying to help the distracted, unmotivated and the overwhelmed. Coaching, Writing & Consulting available. Join me at https://jodygates.com