Progress is progress, even if small

Let’s acknowledge it!

Makrand Patwardhan
Humans with ADHD
3 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Progress is Progress!
Even the smallest progress is worth celebrating (Credit: Makrand Patwardhan)

I recently visited my psychiatrist for an updation of my prescription for ADHD meds. I was pretty upset with myself. My brain was buzzing with the question — “Am I actually getting better or not?” Have been taking these meds for some months now, so, my overthinking self was just sending this question again and again to the front. After our initial small talk and status update, I ended up asking this question to the doc.

Me: “Do you think I am getting better? I am not able to judge that well.”

Doc: “Yes.. you are.”

Me: “How do you know?”

Doc: “Your speech speed is less than before now, have you noticed it?”

Me: <After mulling a bit> “It seems. I can feel it too now that you mention it. But, that is such a small thing.”

Doc: “Yes. But, it is still progress even if it is small. There is a backlog of many years to be dismantled, so, it will take time.”

This made a lot of sense. I got the same response from my therapist too.

All of us, especially ADHD’ers, are looking for a sense of gratification for our efforts. We also tend to make big goals, which creates ways to falter and then lose the gains.

All progress matters.. even if it is small!

This is a lesson that all of us know or have heard of. But, it is one of the most difficult ones to accept and assimilate in self. To give an example from my own journey, I started a goal of going “Zero Sugar” full-on… it started great, but, then I faltered and then over time, I felt like I did nothing!

But, when I was talking to my therapist, she asked about what actions I took in this goal.. no biscuits.. no sweet stuff outside, etc. Then, she asked if I faltered in all actions or just some of them.

That just changed the perspective altogether. I realized that even if I could not go full “Zero Sugar”, I was able to completely stop eating biscuits in the morning. So, there was progress, maybe not to my level of expectation, but there was something positive!

Thinking positively of yourself is important.

ADHD folks are really good at self-deprecation. We have gone through so many failures in correcting ourselves to social expectations that some of us find it difficult to like ourselves.

These small wins help in getting better. Recognize that you did make the effort and something good did happen. Even 1% is better than nothing. Acknowledge it!

Mental health recovery is not like recovering from a fever… it is a marathon, not a sprint. It will take time. Know it, accept it and recognize the good things!

We all will falter but, until we keep putting one foot in front of another, there is progress!

--

--

Makrand Patwardhan
Humans with ADHD

Designer. Analyst. Knowledge Sponge (learning never stops!)